Why did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose?

First, let me say, I’m thrilled that Barack Obama and Joe Biden won.

But I was troubled today when I saw a clip of Sarah Palin explaining that the loss wasn’t her fault. Her manner annoyed me. I don’t think the loss is all her fault, but I do think she played a role. And I thought the interview came across as arrogant.

Here’s my take on what happened. I really think McCain is to blame for the loss, in part because he picked Palin. McCain is a moderate Republican. Honestly, if I didn’t love the Democratic candidate, I may have been able to see myself voting for McCain — well, maybe not. But he’s really much more moderate than many Republicans.

So he picks Palin to appease the ultra-right, who thinks McCain is too moderate. But it backfires. Yes, the ultra-right likes her, but too many other Republicans don’t. And she’s so conservative that middle-of-the-road Democrats can’t stomach voting for her, even those who would love the chance — as I would — to vote for a woman.

Then there is Palin’s whole no experience thing. And add to that the fact that McCain is on the older side, so the worry that he could die in office is heightened.

Then the economy plummets and, right or wrong, much of the country blames President George W. Bush because even if it wasn’t his fault, he’s in charge. That tarnishes all Republicans in a way, and McCain, as much as he tried, can’t really distance himself from Bush.

So you end up with this situation where Palin attracts only the far right and pretty much pisses everyone else off. And the moderates of both parties who might vote for McCain are too scared — scared he might die or scared he’ll continue our economic decline.

And then Obama, who is calm and collected to McCain’s red-faced agitation, seems like a knight in shining armor, swooping in to save the day.

Now that is not to say that I think Obama won because people were afraid to elect McCain. I believe Obama has a true mandate. He secured both the popular and electoral vote. He even won kids’ elections. And he won the vote of many Republicans. I live in a small Democratic city in a sea of Republican towns. Obama won almost all the towns in my community, which is no small feat. Most of these don’t even run a Democratic candidate for town offices, ever, because there are so few Democrats who live there.

So I think McCain/Palin lost because the country wanted change, needed change and trusted Obama/Biden to bring that change. But I do think that McCain hurt his chances by picking Palin.

Then again, maybe they lost just because Palin said “maverick” so many darn times.

What do you think?

3 Responses to “Why did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose?”

  1. […] did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose? Posted in November 5th, 2008 by in Uncategorized Why did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose? First, let me say, I’m thrilled that Barack Obama and Joe Biden won. But I was troubled today […]

  2. […] Why did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose? First, let me say, I’m thrilled that Barack Obama and Joe Biden won. But I was troubled today when I saw a clip of Sarah Palin explaining that the loss wasn’t her fault. Her manner annoyed me. I don’t think the loss is all her fault, but I do think she played a role. And I thought the interview came across as arrogant. Here’s my take on what happened. I really think McCain is to blame for the loss, in part because he picked Palin. McCain is a moderate Republican. Honestly, if I didn’t love t […]

  3. […] Why did John McCain and Sarah Palin lose? First, let me say, I’m thrilled that Barack Obama and Joe Biden won. But I was troubled today when I saw a clip of Sarah Palin explaining that the loss wasn’t her fault. Her manner annoyed me. I don’t think the loss is all her fault, but I do think she played a role. And I thought the interview came across as arrogant. Here’s my take on what happened. I really think McCain is to blame for the loss, in part because he picked Palin. McCain is a moderate Republican. Honestly, if I didn’t love t […]

Leave a Reply

